Social Network Experiment

27 05 2009

I’m trying to launch an ephemeral meme. (For a definition of a meme, click HERE.) Why? For the sake of trying. Probably the idea that I’m actually telling about it will kill it in its infancy, but still…I’m curious about how these things start, so yeah.

For this experiment, I’m using Twitter, the “all the rage with them kids these days” social networking application du jour, and asking you and anyone you know who tweets, to come up with a tweet that references something ironic but in the form of the song “Ironic” by Alanis Morissette, and then adding the hashtag: #isntitironic

Nothing too hard.

Example (from the song): “It’s like 10,000 spoons when all you need is a knife”

Example from my first tweet: “It’s like finding the coupon the day after the expiration.”

So, give it a shot. I’m curious to see how large it gets. You can always search twitter for certain words to make it easier to track, by the way, to check in on the progress of this little experiment. Just go to http://search.twitter.com and type in #isntitironic and we’ll see what we’ll see.

Please play along if you’ve got a Twitter account, and let’s see if we can’t start a meme!

Also, if you ARE on Twitter, please follow me @LarryEisner ! I appreciate it. Let me know you’re following me and I’ll be happy to follow back!

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 05 2009
@mattstratton

So basically, it’s supposed to be something that Alanis would have classified as ironic, but isn’t actually ironic, it’s just unfortunate?

27 05 2009
otakudad

That’s how the song went. Yes. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

